If anyone really worshipped matcha, it wouldn’t be me, though I do love using it when making matcha cupcakes. I would also like having freshly made shortbread with equally freshly brewed green tea, and although I haven’t done it, the thought of it sounds pleasant.

Matcha Cookies3

Anyway, I happened to come across a post in bakebakebake on Livejournal about matcha cookies last year, and so many people raved about it. I replied to that post mentioning about baking some soon, but that ‘soon’ turned into about 5 months later. Finally decided to make them as there was not much matcha left in the pantry to make another round of matcha cupcakes.

Matcha Cookies1

Making these cookies were really easy, sort of like making shortbread from a previous recipe where I just have to mix everything together without worrying about over-mixing the mixture. The dough came out a lovely deep green, and the scent of the matcha just filled the air, though it was on the dry, crumbly side. I solved that with 2 tablespoons of milk, making the dough sticky enough to come together before chilling it and rolling it out. Then using my trusty heart shaped cookie cutter (the only cookie cutter I have), made many heart shaped cookies. =D

Matcha Cookies2

I coated those lovely hearts in sugar before popping them into the oven and they came out such a lovely green colour with the sides slightly caramelised. As for taste, they were bursting with matcha, and the butter and icing sugar combo gave them such a buttery, crumbly texture. I kept them in a container after they cooled and whenever I stole a cookie from it, the scent of matcha just emanates from the interior. Such Sweet Hearts~

Matcha Cookies4

Apparently you can get small canisters of matcha easily in the city at Great Eastern (Along Russell Street, near the corner of Little Bourke Street, Chinatown) going for $5.50 a pop. They also sell a lot of other Asian staples as well as various sweets and savouries. I found some sakura related products but haven’t gotten around finding out what they are, I will eventually buy some and figure out what to do with them.

Taken and adapted from lovescool’s popular recipe

Green Tea Sweets
Yield (2” leaf shape): Approx 25

  • 3/4 cup confectioners/icing sugar
  • 140 grams unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 tbsp matcha (powdered green tea)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar (for coating)
  1. Preheat the oven to 180˚C. Line a sheet pan with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk the confectioner’s sugar and green tea together in a bowl.
  3. Add the butter and green tea/sugar mixture to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix until smooth and light in color.*
  4. Add the flour and mix until well combined.
  5. Add the egg yolks and mix just until the eggs are fully incorporated and a mass forms.**
  6. Form the dough into a disk and chill in the refrigerator until firm (about 30 minutes).
  7. Roll the dough out to ½” (1cm) thickness, and cut the dough with a leaf cookie cutter.
  8. Toss each cut cookie in a bowl of granulated sugar to coat.
  9. Place the sugar-coated cookie on a parchment lined pan. Bake at 350F for 12-15 minutes, or until slightly golden around the edges.

*I just used a standard hand mixer, it worked just as well.
**The dough didn’t come together as I thought so I added a bit of milk. Don’t worry if the dough comes out sticky. Its still good. =D

Chocolate Eggs 2

Lastly, these are some of the Easter Eggs I had, Cadbury by the way. Too tedious (and lazy) to make my own no matter how interesting it sounded. Anyway to my readers, have a wonderful 33 days of Easter left (40 days from last Saturday).

