Its been quite a while since I last posted something, been enjoying my one month holiday overseas and visiting my family. Now that I’m back, hopefully energized, I’ll be back to baking more things in no time. =D

Choc Muffins 3

Melbourne mornings in winter have never been pleasant, it gets cold quickly even with the sun shining at 9am (I have been spending my nights watching the Tour de France, mind you) and I need something warm and breakfasty besides bread from the freezer spread with kaya (a coconut egg jam), peanut butter or Nutella. Luckily, there are muffins to the rescue!

Choc Muffins 1

This easy to make chocolate quick bread has been a breakfast staple for me and my brother for many years, eating them on the go, in lectures, during breaks or lazy mid mornings at home. I’m satisfied with it for breakfast and since its full of chocolate, I have a very contented brother as well. Although they start to go rock hard on the second day (I reckon they can easily bludgeon someone to death), there is nothing like a quick reheat to get them soft and spongy again.

Choc Muffins 2

I’ve been trying to make these muffins healthier through the addition of lite sour cream and wholemeal flour, not much change in taste (which is good) but the wholemeal does give an extra bite to the muffins which were very much nicer. I’ll give the original recipe so that you all can go alter it to your liking.

Chocolate Chip Muffins
From a cut out my Mom gave to me from a parenting magazine a long time ago.
Makes 12

  • 400g all purpose/plain flour*
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 125g soft dark brown sugar
  • 200g chocolate chips (any kind)
  • 150ml milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 125g butter melted
  • 150ml sour cream

*I used half white all purpose and half wholemeal flour, made muffins with a bite! Substitute any amount you require.

  1. Preheat the oven to 180˚C.
  2. Sift the flour baking powder and cocoa powder into a bowl, then stir in the brown sugar and chocolate chips.
  3. Mix the eggs, milk, melted butter and sour cream together in another bowl until combined.
  4. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry to make a thick batter, try to mix the stuff at the bottom as well.
  5. Spoon muffin mixture into a lined muffin tin and bake for about 20 minutes.
  6. Leave them in the tin for 5 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack.

See? Simple as that and best fresh from the oven. Chocoholics will love it~ To devour these muffins on another day, just reheat them in the oven for a while or in a microwave.

Also I’ll be posting all the food I’ve eaten on my trip overseas soon, stay tuned for it!

