Semester 1 of my Final Year has been hectic, so many MANY assignments to do and with only 3 weeks left to the end of semester! I don’t even know why there is a proportional increase to the year you are studying and the amount of assignments you have to do? Dang University and their excessive need for assignments!

Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake 01

Since Mother’s Day was around the corner and I needed some therapy, I went ahead and made a good ol’ chocolate cake, one with sour cream to give it a tender crumb. Nigella’s recipe seen on youtube fitted the requirements perfectly, chocolate everywhere with extra added Maltesers around the top. And boy that was some moist and tasty cake, though the icing was too sweet for my liking!

Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake 02

Well, the cake making didn’t really cure the pent up stress, neither did the icing spreading, but sitting down to indulge in the cake was a therapy good enough. The only thing though was that my Mom changed her plans to visit me during this week due to some last minute happenings. So no cake for her to try!!! ;___; And my birthday… nooooooo   ;______;

Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake 03

So wishing Mom a Very Happy Mother’s Day, hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow laughing, eating and enjoying yourself. But don’t worry though Mom, we ate the cake for you! =D It was all gone on Friday~ Will surely make this cake again, maybe this time decorating it like that Portal Cake. Mmmmm… the cake… is not a lie.

Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake 04

Finally I’m gonna promote this Youtube channel Cooking with Dog just because Francis is such a cute poodle and I love Japanese recipes.

Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake
Adapted from Nigella’s book Feast
Makes two 8 inch round cakes

  • 200g all purpose flour
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 150ml sour cream
  • 150g softened butter
  • 40g cocoa
  • 2 large eggs
  1. Preheat an over 180ºC, grease and line two 8′ round cake tins (I only had one, so I had to reuse it, no problems there.)
  2. Combine all the ingredients into a bowl and beat until well combined. About 2 minutes or until there are no white streaks in the batter.
  3. Pour the batter into the tins and smooth the tops with a spatula. Don’t worry if the batter won’t go all the way to the sides, baking them will solve it.
  4. Bake the cakes for 30 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Take the cakes out and cool them on a wire rack. (Since I didn’t like the icing, I won’t post the recipe here. Though it would save you trouble to just use your favourite icing instead, unless you love sweet icing.)

I know I’ve used one too many of Nigella’s recipes, but her stuff just looked so good and easy to make, how can I resist making them??? Furthermore, I just beat everything together and bake it, less stress to clean up!

