Made these brownies over the weekend, they are not wild, and they are definitely not made in the woods! Frankly, I don’t even know why they were named that, but I baked them after my last assignment on Monday and then got lazy to type a post on it till now. Heck, its exam period now and I’m writing/editing this post! =/

Wildwood Brownie 3

Before getting to the recipe, I just celebrated my birthday! Ok… it was three weeks ago but you know its hard to separate university students and their precious assignments!! Couldn’t plan ahead too much, so me and my friends just had a simple dinner and I got the gifts below. You guys are sweet (Purple CHUCKS 8D)!

Birthday Presents

PURPLE CHUCKS MAN!

Birthday Cake 1

Birthday Cake 2

Tiramisu and a Chocolate Mousse cake from my brother and a friend… /sigh Wonderful~~~~ <3

Wildwood Brownie 1

Anyway, back to the brownies, they are just the densest, cakey (fudgy?) like morsels ever. I wouldn’t say they are the best cause most recipes say theirs is the best and I’m not really inclined to grade my brownies, but I can guarantee that they are good and full of chocolate in every bite!

Ok, its not the best of descriptions but I forgot when I acquired the recipe from The AGE (I seem to be getting my recipes from the AGE as well) but I’ve been using it since making it for the first time and tasted a good fudgy/cakey brownie. To tell the truth, I can’t tell the difference between fudgy and cakey. HAHA! I would say one would be like fluffy cake and the other dense fudge? /shrugs

Wildwood Brownie 2

Use the best chocolate you can get your hands on for divine  brownies, too bad I couldn’t get good enough chocolate chips (as above, I used Nestle chocolate chips). I’ll buy proper chocolate chips after I finish up my stash in the pantry. I’m trying to look for Valrhona and Ghirardelli chocolate in Melbourne. Bake it Yourself near Novena that sells Valrhona in Singapore if anyone is interested though. Better start researching~ No wait! Exams first!

Wildwood Brownie 4

Enjoy them on their own (I recommend!) or with a big BIG dollop of vanilla ice-cream. =D

The Wildwood Brownies

From The AGE newspaper, don’t know when

Makes a 8 x 8 (20cm) inch square brownie

  • 150g butter
  • 175g dark chocolate
  • 3 eggs, at room temperature
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 75g brown sugar
  • A pinch of salt
  • A few drops of vanilla extract
  • 125g plain/all-purpose flour
  • 50g cocoa
  • 200g chocolate chips, I used dark
  1. Preheat the oven to 170ºC, butter and line a 8 x 8 inch square pan with baking paper.
  2. Melt the butter and chocolate in a bowl over simmering water until just melted. Let the chocolate mixture cool.
  3. Beat the eggs and sugar until thick and pale.
  4. Fold the chocolate mixture and vanilla into the egg mixture and stir until combined.
  5. Sift the flour, cocoa and salt into the mixture along with the chocolate chips.
  6. Pour and spread the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 35 minutes or slightly under, cool the brownies in the tin for 5 minutes before turning it onto wire rack to cool completely.
  7. Cut the brownies into slices/pieces before the cake fully cools down.
Valrhona
