I LOVE pancakes, especially just plain fluffy ones. The Pancake Parlour on Bourke Street opposite Myers sells really good pancakes. I prefer their sweet pancakes to the savoury ones, just not used to eating them with scrambled eggs, bacon or potatoes. For chocolate lovers, try the Chocolate Strawberry Jubilee set which has 2 fluffy chocolate pancakes topped with vanilla ice-cream, surrounded by strawberries and chocolate sauce. Heaven =D~

Choc Pancakes 1

I decided to make chocolate pancakes to celebrate re-surviving the first two weeks of University life (lots of reading and problem solving but manageable). The stacks were basically topped with various sweet things like maple syrup and ice-cream. The photo above was my brother’s set, a scoop of vanilla ice-cream and maple syrup. I topped my own with sliced banana, a bit of chocolate ice-cream and maple syrup. It was a chocolate overdose but in the heat, it was worth it!

Choc Pancakes 2

I would have preferred to bake but due to the strange heat wave sweeping across the whole country, just turning on the stove made the apartment I live in unbearable. Quite unbelievable that temperatures soared up to 39 degrees Celsius in autumn, even though its just the beginning of the season. The weirdest part was that it was colder in summer than it is now.

Choc Pancakes 3

Anyway, back to these chocolate pancakes, I wouldn’t compare them to the ones sold at the Pancake Parlour, but they were just as good and full of chocolatey goodness. Though my only gripe would be that they weren’t fluffy enough and a tad too dense. Lovely with bananas and maybe better with chocolate sauce, the ice-cream made it go down much easier. Overall, a very fulfilling breakfast with much calories to burn.

Choc Pancakes 4

Yay~ A clean plate!

I used Donna Hay’s recipe from a magazine cut out (I can’t remember the year and where I got it). Making the pancakes were easy, though finding so many bubbles in the batter even before cooking them was not I expected. I might try making an alteration to a plain pancake recipe I prefer but I’ll post this one first~

Taken from a magazine cut out, featuring Donna Hay’s Pancake recipes

Chocolate Pancakes
It makes a number (~10?), better to store them, cause unless you are a chocolate pancake freak. Two is enough per person.

  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk*
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cup caster sugar**
  • 75g butter melted***
  1. Sift flour, baking powder and cocoa into a large bowl and make a well in the centre. Place eggs, milk, sugar and melted butter in the well and whisk until smooth.
  2. Heat a non-stick frying pan over small heat until hot. Pour batter onto pan and cook for 2 – 3 minutes on each side. Serve with whatever you wish!

* I find the batter too thick, so adding more milk to thin it would better.
** I added less sugar to the mix due to the copious amounts in the toppings we had.
*** A mixture of vegetable oil and butter would be better.

Too late for Shrove Tuesday, but wonderful for the rest of the year~

Edit: Now that I think about it… I think the error was in the method, but I’ll do another round next week using the altered recipe and method and see how this goes.

