Nigella's ccc 2

I’ve finally completed my 3000 word essay on Emotional Intelligence last Thursday and decided to make chocolate chip cookies as a reward. I found this recipe watching a youtube video featuring Nigella Lawson making these chocolate chip morsels, stuffed with 500 grams (2 packets) of chocolate chips. Re-watching the video and writing down the recipe, I baked them one night later.

Nigella's ccc 1

When I first watched the video, 500 grams of chocolate chips!? Nigella, you must be mad! However, she says that although its excessive, no one can put a price on alleviating human suffering through a chocolate chip cookie which I agree wholeheartedly. The whole recipe was simple and straight forward, except for the 500 grams of chocolate chips, which was overkill even for me as a chocolate lover or maybe I’m just not hardcore enough =P.

Nigella's ccc 3

As with all of Nigella’s baked goods, these cookies were heavenly. Chewy on the inside and full of chocolatey goodness, with just the right touch of sweetness as well. My stash is almost gone, from my brother’s insatiable appetite for chocolate and my need for a snack during lectures. My love for chewy cookies has just been fulfilled, for awhile~

Nigella's ccc 4

I must make them again soon! But for now I have to think about what to bake for a pot luck dinner this Anzac Day on Friday.

Totally Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Nigella Lawson (Nigella Express)
Makes 12

  • 125g dark chocolate
  • 125g unsalted butter, softened
  • 75g soft light brown sugar
  • 50g sugar
  • 150g plain flour
  • 30g cocoa
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 1/2 generous tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cold free-range egg
  • 500g chocolate chips
  1. Melt the chocolate in a bowl over simmer water in a pan.
  2. In a bowl, beat the butter and sugar together until smooth.
  3. Place flour, cocoa, bicarbonate soda and salt in another bowl.
  4. Add vanilla and the melted chocolate into the butter-sugar mixture, add the cold egg and beat until smooth.
  5. Pour in dry ingredients and beat until incorporated. Then stir in the chocolate chips.
  6. Heap spoonfuls of the mixture onto lined baking trays and bake at 170˚C for 16mins.

*I managed to make about 19 cookies from the batch of dough, used 250 grams of chocolate chips and baked them for a shorter time.

