So, my exams have come and gone, so what’s a girl to do with holidays in her mind right now??

Bake(!!), make ice-cream, watch game-plays of survivor horror games on Youtube and go out on merry outings with her friends!

Buttercake 03

With my dad visiting us for a week, I decided to look for a good butter cake recipe (also called yellow cake I believe) without 10 eggs and heap loads of butter and sugar. I finally found one through tastespotting that only consisted of 2 eggs with much less butter and sugar.

Buttercake 01

The cake looks like Pac Man, with the mouth and all, just needs plain yellow icing and a black eye… as well as some ghosts and fruits. This actually sounds like a plan! Basically, my parents couldn’t wait to dig into the cake before I could take some nice shots of it, but still a Pac Man looking cake is better than none.

Buttercake 02

This butter cake turned out pretty fine, if I say so myself. Much better than that recipe that rarely ever baked in the centre, which always came out sludgy and all. This cake on the other hand, came out perfectly moist and flavourful AND baked through the centre, a keeper of a recipe!

Buttercake 04

See how nice it is! Light buttery goodness with a moist crumb and crunchy crust. Best eaten on the day itself, cause I kept it in a cake container for a day and it sort of hardened and turned dry, it probably could have been due to the slight overbaking for 3 minutes to ensure that it was baked through (I did the skewer test before that and it came out slightly wet!!) Anyway, I’m pleased with the results and my family loved the cake, so I’m a happy girl~~

As seen from Big City, Little Kitchen

Butter Cake

  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 170g butter, softened
  • 1 cup (200g) sugar*
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup full cream milk
  1. Preheat the oven to 190˚C. Line a 9-inch round cake tin with baking paper.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together. In another bowl, cream the butter and sugar for about 2 mins. Beat in the eggs and vanilla until well combined.
  3. Fold in the flour in 3 parts, alternating with the milk. Fold in each part until well combined. After the last addition, mix the batter until it looks uniform.
  4. Pour the batter into the prepared tin and smooth the top with a spatula. Bake the cake for about 40 mins or until the top is golden and tested for doneness. Let the cake rest for 5 mins, then remove the cake to a wire rack to cool completely.

* Is an estimated conversion into grams.

