I finally got to do something with my heavily discounted Snowy ice-cream maker in Melbourne before I left for S’pore!

Mango Sorbet 02

With mangoes in season, you can either sit and eat 2 to 3 of those sunshine yellow fruits, or get a better deal with a cold mangoey sorbet? Easy to make and even easier to clean it up. It didn’t last long though due to the warm weather and the mango loving family~ Don’ worry though, I have another ice-cream maker here in S’pore so its all good!


Mango Sorbet 01

The best part of this recipe was that you just blitz everything in a blender and pour it into your waiting ice-cream machine and watch it churn for a good half an hour or more if desired. It was mesmerising to watch the machine twirl that golden mixture till it got frosty and slushy all over!

Mango Sorbet 03

Good picture? Bad Picture? Never mind that, its mango sorbet we’re talking about! =D

Mango Sorbet 04

After letting the ice-cream maker do all the hard work, just pour all that golden icy goodness into an awaiting container and freeze it overnight! Lovely stuff to cool yourself with when the house gets warm and bothersome.

Mango Sorbet 05

The treat was so lovely that you can taste practically mango all the way down your throat. I would make it again if I could get good mangoes now that I’m back in S’pore but I should make either durian or honey ice-cream instead! Now if I can just remind myself to get cream whenever I go out…

Mango Sorbet
Adapted from David Lebovitz (The Perfect Scoop)
Makes 1 litre

  • 2 large ripe mangoes (~1 kg, I used 3 medium sized ones)
  • 130 g (2/3 cup) sugar*
  • 160 ml (2/3 cup) water
  • 4 tsp freshly squezed lime juice
  • 1 tbsp dark rum, plus more to taste (I omitted this)
  • A pinch of salt
  1. Cut up the mangoes like this (Some videos to guide you?)
  2. Scoop out the flesh and place them in a blender with the sugar, water, lime juice, rum and salt. Try to squeeze out all the pulp and juice from the pits.
  3. Purée the ingredients until smooth. Taste, then add more lime juice or rum until satisfied.
  4. Chill the mixture throughly in the fridge for about 2 hours, then pour into your ice-cream machine and let it churn and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
  5. Pour out the slushy sorbet into a container and freeze for a few good hours or better overnight.

*The mangoes I used were so sweet I used less sugar (~90 g?), sweetness should be adjusted accordingly.

