Finally! I’ve officially finished the last of my university assignments forever, though my graduation won’t take place till March 2010!! But I’m excited about looking forward to my working life, and the best part is not worrying about studying for exams (but I’ve been mulling over my last ever exams coming in the next two week!! /gasp)!

Edit: I’ve decided to revert back to my old name as it was tedious to let my friends know that I’ve changed my blog. Apologies to EVERYONE who have been changing their bookmarks and links (seriously ;A;)!!!!

Crinkle 001

Anyway to celebrate all of that, I made Chocolate Crinkles.

As usual, this recipe came from a newspaper clipping which has adapted the recipe from Anita Chu’s Field Guide to Cookies, and its ANOTHER chocolate recipe!! I can’t ever get enough of chocolate recipes.

Crinkle 002

I noticed that that adaptation didn’t have an icing sugar coating which chocolate crinkles were supposed to have so I did a recipe check in Google and found Cannelle et Vanille’s review of her book. Since I don’t really like too much sugar in my baked stuff, I skipped the icing sugar coating which was mentioned.

Crinkle 003

I already love these cookies just for being at the right texture and sweetness, but they look kind of sad without that powdery sugary layer. Probably if I make a batch for my friends, I’ll add that extra layer of sweetness. =)

Crinkle 004

Should get her book for Christmas, it has a lot of great reviews and I would like a proper cookie book anyway~

Chocolate Crinkles
Adapted from the Straits Time article which was adapted from Field Guide to Cookies by Anita Chu.

  • 170g dark chocolate
  • 85g butter
  • 185g plain flour
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 115g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • **icing sugar for rolling the cookies in
  1. Melt chocolate and butter in a bowl over a pot of simmering water. Stir together until smooth and set aside to cool.
  2. Sift the flour, cocoa powder and baking powder together in another bowl. Set aside.
  3. Beat the sugar and eggs with a mixer until thick and smooth. Add the vanilla and melted chocolate and mix until combined.
  4. Add the sifted flour mixture and salt, mix until combined.
  5. Refrigerate the dough for at least 2 hours or overnight.
  6. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to a 170ºC and scoop out walnut sized pieces of dough (**if using, roll the dough in the icing sugar) and place them on a baking tray lined with baking paper. If the dough was left overnight, take it out while the oven preheats and continue from there.
  7. Bake the cookies for 10 – 12 minutes till the tops have just cracked.
  8. Remove from the oven and let them cool for 5 minutes on the baking tray before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completly.

Store the cookies in an airtight container. Enjoy!! =)

