Well in short, I’ve just graduated after a 5 long year stint of University studying, recently moved house (having a new kitchen with electric stoves!) and am now in the process of looking for a job! D: Busy busy year!!!

So just to kick things off for this year, first post by the way, here is a tea egg.

Tea Eggs 4

Ok… so that was for last nights dinner but I made another batch today.

Tea Eggs 001

Tea Eggs are said to improve blood circulation and are common street snacks, I recently began eating them from Eu Yan Sang on my last trip back to S’pore, hankered for them, found a recipe in my mom’s cookbook stash and I made them here. Using tea leaves from a can of Hangzhou Longjing tea and some spices, a tea stain broth was made.

Tea Eggs 2

I couldn’t take a better photo of a brown tea stain mixture (I don’t think anyone can) but that’s just all the tea and spices boiled together in a pot and used to stain the eggs.

Tea Eggs 3

I boiled my first set of eggs as long as the recipe said, there were tea stains but were not dark enough and they didn’t taste as great as the ones bought outside. So for the second batch, I boiled them for over an hour and a half. The result was a darker stain, with a faint taste of tea and spices. I guess I would have to boil the eggs for much much longer or use a different blend of spices to get a stronger flavour.

Anyway, here’s the recipe by Ng Siong Mui’s Health, Beauty and Rejuvenation book (No Amazon link)

Spicy Tea Eggs

Makes as many as you want, but for this recipe, the spices cater for 10 eggs, I think 10 is too many and so used 4 eggs for this batch.

  • 10g cloves
  • 10g star anise
  • 10g cinnamon
  • 30g tea leaves
  • 1 tbsp salt
  1. Put eggs into a pot and cover them with water. Bring the water to a boil and lower the heat to cook the eggs for 20 minutes. Stir the eggs occasionally at the beginning to ensure that the yolks are positioned in the middle when they are hard boiled.
  2. Remove the eggs without discarding the water. Crack the shells using the back of a metal spoon, do not remove the shells and set the eggs aside.
  3. Put all the spices and tea into the pot of water used to cook the eggs. Bring them to the boil and boil for 5 minutes, then lower the heat to simmering point.
  4. Return the eggs to spice stain mixture and leave to cook for 20 minutes (or longer) to allow the flavour to penetrate the eggs.
  5. When done, remove the eggs from the pot, rinse them quickly under water and peel off the shells. Serve them as they are.
  6. The pot of solution can be reused for another batch of eggs and can be kept refrigerated for 2 weeks. If there is too little water, top up enough and boil for a few minutes and continue with the recipe.
